top of page




Suscribe now
Enquire now


  • Writer's pictureJourneyou Editor

How is South America divided?

South America is a vast and diverse continent, stretching from the Caribbean Sea in the north to the southernmost tip of the continent at Cape Horn. It is bordered by the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. Let's explore South America's geographical features and countries in 1000 words:

Starting in the north, we have the countries of Venezuela, Colombia, and Ecuador. Venezuela is known for its stunning Caribbean coastline, the Andes Mountains, and the world-famous Angel Falls, the highest waterfall in the world. Colombia offers a mix of beautiful beaches, vibrant cities like Bogota and Medellin, and the stunning landscapes of the Coffee Triangle. Ecuador is home to the Galapagos Islands, known for their unique wildlife and Charles Darwin's studies.

Moving south, we reach Peru, which is famous for the ancient Inca city of Machu Picchu and the vibrant capital, Lima. The country is also home to the Amazon Rainforest and Lake Titicaca, the highest navigable lake in the world.

Bolivia, located in the heart of South America, is known for its diverse landscapes, including the vast salt flats of Uyuni and the colorful city of La Paz, nestled high in the Andes. The country also shares the Amazon Rainforest with neighboring Brazil.

Brazil, the largest country in South America, is a land of contrasts. It is home to the Amazon Rainforest, the Pantanal wetlands, and the iconic Iguazu Falls. Brazil also boasts vibrant cities like Rio de Janeiro, with its famous Copacabana beach and Christ the Redeemer statue.

Paraguay, a landlocked country, is known for its lush forests, unique wildlife, and the UNESCO-listed Jesuit Missions of La Santísima Trinidad de Paraná and Jesús de Tavarangue.

Heading further south, we arrive at Argentina, a country renowned for its diverse landscapes. It is home to the stunning Andes Mountains, the vast grasslands of the Pampas, and the breathtaking glaciers of Patagonia. Buenos Aires, the capital, is famous for its tango culture and European-inspired architecture.

Next is Uruguay, a small country nestled between Argentina and Brazil. It offers beautiful beaches along the Atlantic coast, charming colonial towns like Colonia del Sacramento, and the vibrant capital, Montevideo.

Chile, a long and narrow country, stretches along the western coast of South America. It boasts diverse landscapes, including the Atacama Desert, the Lake District, and the fjords of Patagonia. The country is also home to Easter Island, known for its mysterious giant stone statues called Moai.

Crossing the Strait of Magellan, we reach the southernmost region of South America, where we find Argentina's Tierra del Fuego and Chile's Cape Horn. These remote and rugged areas offer breathtaking scenery and are a gateway to Antarctica.

Finally, we have the Falkland Islands (Malvinas), a British overseas territory in the South Atlantic Ocean. These islands are known for their rich wildlife, including penguins, seals, and albatrosses.

South America's geography is incredibly diverse, featuring towering mountains, vast rainforests, stunning coastlines, and unique ecosystems. It offers a wealth of cultural experiences, outdoor adventures, and natural wonders, making it a captivating destination for travelers from around the world.

Recent Posts

See All





5 impressive glaciers to visit in South America

Discover 5 glaciers you would love to visit in South America.

bottom of page